Google Maps Location History – View Your Location History in Google Maps and Shut Off Tracking

Google Maps Location History

Google Maps Location History – How to View Your Location History in Google Maps – Shut Off Tracking

Google Maps location history and tracking is used to not only map your path to your destination, it is also shared with other Google apps. Google Maps location history is used by Google and its arsenal of free apps – YouTube, Chrome web browser, Google Pay, Gmail, of course Google Maps, and especially Google Ads – to track your location through your phone, laptop, and everywhere else you are logged into a Google account. Google users your location tracking to improve user experience by sharing location history, web activity, app activity, and device-level Location services across its products.

Google Maps location history is set at the account level. It tracks and saves a historical timeline of your device’s location everywhere you go. For location history to work you must be signed in to your Google Account while using Google maps, and have location history and device location reporting turned on.

RELATED READS:

How to Delete Your Google Search History
How to Erase Your Google Timeline
Google Apps That Track Your Location
How Your Phone Tracks You

Location History is off by default and you must turn it on to opt into tracking services. When Google Maps location history is on you will be able to see everywhere you ‘ve been and what mode of transportation you used – train, walking, car, etc…

Google Location History Opt In
Google Location History Opt In

How to View Google Maps Location History

To easily view your Google Maps location history, use the Google Maps App

  1. Open Google Maps app on your phone
  2. Tap the hamburger menu in the upper left corner of Google Maps app
  3. Tap Your Timeline to see a list of places you’ve visited

The Google Maps location history can be sorted by day, places, cities, or zoomed out for global locations. Tap any country on the world list to see a breakdown of timeline locations you visited within that country.

Google Timeline World Map
Google Timeline World Map

Can You See Someone’s Location History?

Google Maps location history cannot be seen by anyone else unless you have opted to share your location data with other maps users. You can share your location from https://www.google.com/maps the Google Maps app. This can be turned on for continuous sharing or you can choose to map a route and share that trip only with someone else.

Google Maps Location Sharing
Google Maps Location Sharing

How to Share Google Maps Location History

  1. Open Google Maps app on your phone
  2. Tap the hamburger menu in the upper left corner of Google Maps app
  3. Tap Location Sharing
  4. Choose a contact to share your location with

You can only start sharing location data from your phone. Here are some great phones that work well with Google Maps and can track location History.

User who share their location with others will be reminded every month that your location is being shared.

How Can I See My Phone Location History?

Google account users can always see their phone location history anytime by opening Google Maps on the phone. You can also see your phone location history by Chrome web browser on the phone as long as it is logged into the same Google account used by Maps. If your Google account used on your phone is synced with the Google account on your laptop or tablet, then you can also see your phone location history from Chrome web browser on the laptop tablet.

www Maps Google com Location History

View your location history in Google Maps using Chrome web browser or any web browser where you are logged into a Google account.

To see www maps google com location history

  1. Open Google Maps app on your Phone
  2. Tap the hamburger menu in the upper left corner of Google Maps app
  3. Tap Your Timeline to see a list of places you’ve visited

Google Maps Location History – Web Browser

  1. Open Chrome or another web browser
  2. Go to https://www.google.com/
  3. Tap the hamburger menu in the upper left corner of Google Maps window
  4. Tap Your timeline to see a list of places you’ve visited

Disable Google Location Tracking

Even with Google Maps Location History is turned off Google apps still save time-stamped location history without your permission. When Web & App Activity is turned on and Location History is set to off, Google won’t add your location history to your visual timeline . However, apps still collect and store data about your whereabouts.

With location history set to off, other Google Apps like the weather are still capable of giving local weather reports for your location, web searches can find local businesses nearby, and Google Maps still has your location displayed as a blue dot on the map. That’s because your location is still being accessed.

Google Location History Control
Google Location History Control

How to Turn Off Google Maps Location History

Google account users can turn off location history at the account level at any time. Location history can be switched back on at any time.

  1. Sign into your Google account (usually a Gmail account
  2. Go to https://myaccount.google.com/activitycontrols/location
  3. Scroll to the Location History section
  4. Turn Location History off. Slide the button to the off position (greyed out) to stop your devices can tracking Google Maps Location History
  5. Drop down the Devices on this Account menu to see what devices are synced with this Google account
  6. Uncheck the box next to the device names that are no longer allowed to track your location

How to Turn On Google Maps Location History

You can turn on Google Maps Location History on your phone or tablet at any time.

  1. Go to https://myaccount.google.com/activitycontrols/location
  2. Scroll to the Location History section
  3. Turn Location History on. Slide the button to the (blue dot) on to allow Location History tracking on Google apps
  4. Drop down the Devices on this Account menu to see what devices are synced with this Google account
  5. Check the box next to which devices are allowed to track your location history by checking the box next to the phone or tablet name
Michelle - Profile Photo

Michelle writes about cyber security, data privacy focusing on social media privacy as well as how to protect your IoT devices. She She has worked in internet technology for over 20 years and owns METRONY, LLC. Michelle earned a B.S. in Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Michelle published a guide to Cyber Security for Business Travelers